UMR Curtis Law Wilson Library

Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060


Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu

print 


A| B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Use of these resources is limited by licensing agreements. Click here to see the terms of use.


A
ABI/Inform 1971 - present (ProQuest)ABI/Inform provides access to information in 1000 business journals worldwide. Information covered includes economics, finance, and taxation. Full text articles are included. Coverage begins in 1987.
Academic Search PremierThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
ACI International Abstracts (American Concrete Institute)This database provides searchable abstracts to many of the American Concrete Institute's publications, dating as far back as 1929.
ACM Digital LibraryThe ACM Digital Library contains all of the journals and magazines from the 1950's onward (where available) published by the Association for Computing Machinery, a professional organization focussed on computer science. Starting January of 2005, this subscription will be expanded to also include all the ACM newsletters and conference proceedings.
Advanced Polymers AbstractsAdvanced Polymers Abstracts captures technical information about the uses, manufacturing, and properties of thermoset and thermoplastic resins -- materials that compete heavily with metals for structural applications. This database, centralizing information on advanced plastics, is a subset of the Engineered Materials Abstracts (EMA) database. Based on the former print journal of the same name, the EMA database is specifically designed for libraries that serve materials sciences researchers, engineers and scientists. Coverage is from 1986-Present.
Aerospace & High Technology Database
The Aerospace Database provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. The database also covers technology development and applications in complementary and supporting fields such as chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics. In addition to periodic literature, the database also includes coverage of reports issued by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms.
Agricola 1970 - presentThis database provides access to citations for worldwide periodical literature as well as USDA publications. Topics covered include agriculture, animal science, plant science, food and human nutrition, biotechnology, entomology, forestry, and environmental sciences. Produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library, coverage begins in 1970.
AIAA Meeting PapersThe AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics) electronic library provides access to anything to do with aerospace from the beginning of the space age to the present.  The current collection contains more than four decades worth of aerospace research.
Aluminium Industry AbstractsAluminium Industry Abstracts (AIA), formerly World Aluminum Abstracts (WAA), provides comprehensive coverage of the world's technical literature on aluminum, production processes, products, applications, and business developments. The Aluminium Industry Abstracts database includes information abstracted from approximately 2,300 scientific and technical journals, government reports, conference proceedings, dissertations, books, and patents. Coverage is from 1972-present.
America: History & Life (EBSCOhost)America: History & Life covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes citations with abstracts for books, dissertations, and articles from 1964 to the present. It does not include full text articles, although it does link to some sources of full text.
ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering
ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering (formerly Current Technology Database), is an abstracting and indexing service monitoring approximately 350 academic and trade publications from the U.K. and the U.S. Coverage includes new technologies such as information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, as well as engineering (including construction, electrical and chemical engineering) and allied subject areas. Abstracts are available from January 1993 to the present.
Applied Science and Technology Index w/partial full text (HW WilsonWeb)Applied Science and Technology covers literature discussing the practical applications of science and engineering. It also provides information on careers and employment in scientific and technological fields. Some full text articles are available. Coverage begins in 1983.
Art Full Text -- (HW WilsonWeb) This database offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of  peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.  Coverage begins in 1984.
ArticleFirst 1990 - present (FirstSearch)ArticleFirst provides the searchable table of contents for over 15,000 journals.  This database covers a wide range of disciplines including business, the humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social science and technology.  Coverage begins in 1990.
Arts and Humanities SearchOCLC's AHSearch indexes the humanities and related social science literature from 1980 to the present.
ArXivArXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. The contents of arXiv conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation.
ASCE's Civil Engineering DatabaseThe ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) database provides indexing to all of the ASCE's publications since 1970.  Many of these publications are then easily available in print or electronic form in the Missouri S&T library.
ASM HandbooksThis collection of handbooks from the ASM provides searchable access to materials information.
ASTM StandardsThe ASTM standards collection provides full text access to many ASTM standards as well as abstract level access to many other types of standards (ASIO, etc.) as well.  Standards that cannot be accessed in full text from this website can be requested through ILL.
ATLA Religion Index 1949 - presentATLA Religion Database provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues.  ATLA contains more than 1.3 million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in 35 languages. It includes more than 430,000 article citations from more than 1,500 journals (600 currently indexed), more than 200,000 essay citations from 15,300 multi-author works, and more than 400,000 book review citations. Most coverage spans from 1949 to the present while ambitious retrospective indexing is underway taking indexing of select titles whose publication pre-dates 1949 back to their original publication date.
Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsThe Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded coverage includes obituary citations providing an excellent source of biographical data — often the only information available for less-published architects. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present.
B
Biological Abstracts 1997 - present (OVID)
Biological Abstracts 1985 - present (OVID)
Biological Abstracts 1980 - present (OVID)
Biological Abstracts covers all aspects of the life sciences, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. Citations and abstracts for literature from Journals worldwide are included in the database. Our coverage begins in 1980.


BioOne Indexes and Abstracts

BioOne Full Text Journal Collection

The BioOne bibliographic database is an indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts that link to the full text articles available from the BioOne organization. BioOne provides a unique aggregation of over 65 high-impact bioscience research journals from more than 50 publishers. Additional publishers and journals will be added over time, and the aggregation will ultimately encompass over 200 bioscience titles. These titles are produced by societies and non-commercial publishers and a majority were previously available only in printed form. BioOne was developed by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), the University of Kansas, the Greater Western Library Alliance, and Allen Press. The organization is committed to a non-profit objective of disseminating important, scholarly information focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences by recovering costs while ensuring sustainability. More information can be found at www.bioone.org.
BuildingGreen.comArticles "providing accurate, unbiased, and timely information designed to help building-industry professionals and policy makers improve the environmental performance, and reduce the adverse impacts, of buildings." Includes the Environmental Building News newsletter.
Business Source PremierAs the world's largest full text business database, Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
C
Cambridge Journals OnlineCambridge Journals Online provides online full text access to over a dozen journals which are linked through our catalog.  However, you can search their catalog of over a hundred journals at their website.
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) CompleteThe Missouri S&T Library subscribes to a number of different databases through CSA. This link will let you browse all of them.
(Cambridge Scientific Abstracts) Materials Science CollectionMaterials Science Collection incorporates several materials science databases, with citations for literature on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications. Coverage begins in 1966.
Ceramic AbstractsCeramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts is produced by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts in conjunction with CERAM Research Ltd. This is a comprehensive database for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics. Source materials include over 200 journals, conference proceedings, books, patents, standards and company product literature. All abstracts are in English. Coverage is 1975-present.
Ceramics Subfile, Engineered Materials Abstracts Ceramics Subfile captures complete worldwide information about ceramics -- increasingly becoming the material of choice for high temperature applications, erosive environments, biomedical applications, and other areas where their hardness and corrosion resistance are needed. Ceramics Subfile, providing a central source of information on structural ceramics, is a subset of the Engineered Materials Abstracts (EMA) database . Based on the print journal of the same name, the EMA database is specifically designed for libraries that serve materials sciences researchers, engineers and scientists.
ChemFinder ChemFinder has been providing free chemical searching to hundreds of thousands of scientists since 1995. This free database includes:
    •      Chemical Structures - 2D structures & 3D models.
    •     Physical Properties- MP, BP, CAS RN, & more.
    •     Hyperlinks -Links to other websites with information about your compound.
CINAHL 1982 - present (OVID)The CINAHL database is the authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare. For nearly forty years the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature® print index has indexed English-language and selected foreign-language journals covering nursing and other specialised health care areas.
The database also includes relevant materials from seventeen allied health disciplines, plus biomedicine, management, behavioural sciences, health sciences librarianship, education, and consumer health. The CINAHL database provides references to books, book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, educational software, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, critical paths, and research instruments.
Civil Engineering Abstracts
CSA Civil Engineering Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the serials literature in civil engineering and its complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation. This database provides comprehensive international coverage with the monitoring of over 3,000 serial titles as well as numerous non-serial publications.
Clinical Register (OVID) The Register of Clinical Social Workers is a directory of clinical social workers in the United States. It contains information such as name, address, telephone number, employer, education, and employment history as well as type of practice and licensing information.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
 
This database indexes articles in journals related to all aspects of communications, including technical communication. Full text content is available for many journals.
Compendex 1987 - present (OVID)
Compendex 1980 - present (OVID)
Compendex 1884 - 1969 (Engineering Index Backfile)
This resource includes citations with abstracts for engineering and technical literature worldwide. It covers all fields of engineering, as well as related topics in management and the sciences. Contemporary coverage is 1980 to date, while backfile coverage is 1884 to 1969.
Composites Industry AbstractsComposites Industry Abstracts focuses on polymers and ceramics reinforced with fibers, honeycombs, whiskers and laminates. Strong yet lightweight, these materials are now used for a variety of applications, from automotive body panels to sporting goods. This database, centralizing information on composite materials, is a subset of the Engineered Materials Abstracts (EMA) database. Based on the former print journal of the same name, the EMA database is specifically designed for libraries that serve materials sciences researchers, engineers and scientists.
Computer and Information Systems Abstracts
Computers have become the essential means for storing, processing, and accessing all the world's information. This makes it vital to keep up with the latest developments in an increasingly sophisticated technology. There are thousands of sources in this growing field - and only Computer and Information Systems Abstracts provides fast, organized access to all of them, including hard-to-find conference literature.This database provides a comprehensive monthly update on the latest theoretical research and practical applications around the world. From its inception as one of the earliest databases in the field, Computer and Information Systems Abstracts has proven itself an essential resource. This database provides international coverage with the monitoring of over 3,000 serial titles as well as numerous non-serial publications.
Congressional Serial SetReports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes which covers material from 1870-1980.
Copper Data Center DatabaseThe Copper Data Center Database (CDC) provides an online bibliographic database of the world's literature on copper, copper alloys and copper technology since 1965. The Copper Data Center Database covers copper technology from smelting and hydrometallurgy through the performance of copper and copper alloys in their end-use applications and service environments. It references data on the properties and performance of copper and copper alloys and on applications of the copper metals. Over 60,000 documents have been Database covers copper technology from smelting and hydrometallurgy through the performance of copper and copper alloys in their end-use applications and service environments. It references data on the properties and performance of copper and copper alloys and on applications of the copper metals. Over 60,000 documents have been indexed into this database, including 5582 documents published between 1863 and 1964. This database provides international coverage with the monitoring of over 2,400 serial titles as well as numerous non-serial publications.
Corrosion AbstractsCorrosion Abstracts provides the world's most complete source of bibliographic information in the area of corrosion science and engineering. International sources of literature are scanned and abstracted in the areas of general corrosion, testing, corrosion characteristics, preventive measures, materials construction and performance, and equipment for many industries. Corrosion Abstracts provides engineers and scientists with a resource for solving corrosion problems by reviewing the documented experience of others and providing summarized findings in the article abstracts.
CQ Researcher
Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc. CQ Researcher Online offers access to CQ Researcher reports dating back to 1991. PDF files are available for reports from January 1996; color PDFs are available for reports published after January 2001.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsThe CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics online edition represents the 87th edition of the print version in a convenient, easy to search and reference electronic form. The publication's mission is to provide broad coverage of all types of physical science data commonly encountered by scientists and engineers.
CSA Technology Research Database
This comprehensive database provides a single mega-file of all the unique records available through its components: the CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database. The database content represents the most comprehensive and current coverage of the relevant serial and non-serial literature available.
D
Dictionary of Scientific BiographyBiographical information on the careers and practices of prominent scientists from ancient times through the modern era. In order to access this resource, click the link on the left and then the "Proceed" button on the page that loads.
Dictionary of National BiographyAn illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past.  (See also: "Oxford Dictionary of National Biography")
Dissertation AbstractsDissertation Abstracts offers access to more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America. The database also covers thousands of dissertations and theses from around the globe. It is the most comprehensive information resource covering doctoral dissertations and master's theses, including content from a number of ProQuest dissertation print publications, including: Comprehensive Dissertation Index; Dissertation Abstracts International; Masters Abstracts International; American Doctoral Dissertations.
Subjects covered include agriculture & food science, architecture, art, bioscience and biotechnology, business, chemistry, economics, education, history, geoscience, law and political science, mathematics, music, pharmaceuticals, psychology, social science, veterinary sciences, zoology and more.
E
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts Earthquake Engineering Abstracts (EEA) provides comprehensive authoritative coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation. EEA is currently comprised of approximately 102,000 records (full citations and abstracts) from 1971 forward, plus several hundred earlier classic papers and reports. EEA includes approximately 44,000 journal articles -- indexes and abstracts of all major journals that publish significant earthquake engineering research; approximately 36,000 meeting abstracts -- proceedings of conferences and major meetings in earthquake engineering research, and approximately 23,000 research reports' abstracts -- abstracts of research monographs and technical reports including Earthquake Engineering Research Center Reports and Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center Reports.
Earthquake Engineering Reserach Center (EERC) ReportsDatabase of papers from the Earthquake Engineering Research Center at UC-Berkeley. Freely searchable, but a password is required for access to full text. Faculty members may request the password from a librarian; librarians will retrieve articles for students on request. Librarians can be contacted at the reference desk or by email at library@mst.edu
EbraryEbrary Academic Complete offers full text access to over 35,000 electronic books in a wide variety of subjects.  These materials are also available through the library catalog.  Materials in this collection can be full text searched as well as printed in limited quantities.
EbscoHost (via MOREnet)One of the world’s most valuable and most numerous collection of active full text peer-reviewed journals, Academic Search™  Premier (contained within EBSCOhost) contains indexing for 8,175 publications, with full  text for more than 4,700 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further  are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Academic Search  Premier contains unmatched full text coverage in biology, chemistry,  education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion & theology, sociology, etc.
EBSCOhost Electronic Journals ServiceEBSCOhost's Electronic Journal Service contains the full text with backfiles of several hundred journals in various disciplines.  You can browse by the journal as well as search within all of them.  Full text is available through this site.
ECO Electronic Collections Online (FirstSearch)Similar to EBSCOhost' Electronic Journal Service, this vendor provides thousands of titles in full text through this site.
EconLitEconLit provides citations for economics literature worldwide, including books, journal articles, and working papers. Full text articles are not included. Coverage is from 1969 to the present.
Education Full Text -- (HW WilsonWeb)Education Full Text brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Full text of articles cover to cover, from hundreds of journals, make this a  one-stop source for research. Coverage includes 79  journals (37 with full text) not covered by ERIC’s CIJE.
Electronics and Communications Abstracts
Many scientific discoveries start here - with new hardware applications that make the research possible. Advances in electronics and communications are constantly leading to important new instrumentation for research. And the comprehensive guide to ongoing work in this field is Electronics and Communications Abstracts - now expanded and jointly published with Engineering Information. In short, the journal tracks every relevant source of information necessary to keep abreast of this complex, highly competitive discipline. This database provides international coverage with the monitoring  of over 3,000 serial titles as well as numerous non-serial publications.
ETDEWEB -- Energy Technology Data Exchange DatabaseETDEWEB includes information on the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy R&D; energy policy; nuclear, coal, hydrocarbon and renewable energy technologies and much, much more. Explore the growing collection of over 3,418,000  bibliographic records and over 111,000  full text documents available at your fingertips. Additional records may also have links to help users find the full text. Since August 2003, ETDEWEB now includes historical information from ETDE's Energy Database, which began in 1987 as well as historical information back to 1974 from US DOE/OSTI's Energy Citations database.
Engineering Index Backfile (Ei Backfile)Engineering Index Backfile (Ei Backfile) covers the information from the printed Engineering Index from 1884-1969. It provides engineering researchers with the most comprehensive overview of engineering literature available from that period. For newer information similar to that of this collection, please consult Compendex or Inspec.
Environmental Engineering Abstracts
 Environmental Engineering Abstracts covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. More than 700 primary journals are thoroughly indexed and abstracted. Over 2,500 additional sources, including monographs and conference proceedings, are also monitored for relevant articles.
Environmental Health Perspectives (some sections require a password)Environmental Health Perspectives (EHP), an international peer-reviewed journal of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, is a forum for the examination, discussion, and dissemination of the latest news and research relating to the effect of the environment on human health.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution ManagementThis multidisciplinary database, provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Coverage begins in 1967.
Eric (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
F
Faculty of 1000-BiologyFaculty of 1000 is an online literature awareness service that highlights and reviews the most interesting published papers in the biological sciences based on the recommendations of over 1000 leading reseachers.
FirstSearchUnlike the other databases listed here, FirstSearch is the name of the service that provides a number of databases on different subjects, including business (BusManagement, for example, covers management topics). To access these databases, first connect to FirstSearch, then choose the “List All?? option on the left-hand side of the search page to view a list of the available databases. Some full text may be available.
G
GEOBASE (FirstSearch)Currently containing over one million records, the GEOBASE covers journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings and reports in all areas of geography, geology and ecology.  Coverage began in 1980.
GeoRefThis database is a comprehensive geoscience resource containing over 2.6 million bibliographic records covering subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates. Bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals are included in the database as well as journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Over 60,000 references are added to the GeoRef database annually. Geology of North America is covered from 1785 to the present, and geology of the world is covered from 1933 to the present. This database is produced by the American Geological Institute.
GeoScienceWorldAggregated electronic journal content from six of the leading geoscientific organizations: American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG), American Geological Institute (AGI), Geological Society of America (GSA), The Geological Society of London (GSL), Mineralogical Society of America (MSA), Society for Sedimentary Geology (SEPM), and Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG)
GreenFILEIndexes "information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment." Contains some Open Source full text.
H
HealthSTAR 1966 - present (OVID)
HealthSTAR 1966 - 1998 (OVID)
HealthSTAR 1999 - present (OVID)
Ovid Healthstar is comprised of data from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) MEDLINE and former HealthSTAR databases. As such, it contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery. The following topics are included: evaluation of patient outcomes; effectiveness of procedures, programs, products, services and processes; administration and planning of health facilities, services and manpower; health insurance; health policy; health services research; health economics and financial management; laws and regulation; personnel administration; quality assurance; licensure; and accreditation.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)Historical Abstracts covers world history from 1450 to the present, excluding material on the United States and Canada. Citations and abstracts for books, dissertations, and articles from over 2,000 journals are included in the database. Coverage begins in 1954. It does not include full text articles, although it does link to some full text sources.
I
IEEExplore -- IEE/IEEE Electronic LibraryIEEE Xplore provides full text access to its transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings as well as current IEEE standards. Coverage begins in 1988.
INIS (International Nuclear Information System) *ON CAMPUS ONLY*The International Nuclear Information System (INIS) is the leading information source for scientific and technical literature published worldwide on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. INIS maintains a bibliographic database, entitled INIS Database, which currently contains over 2.7 million references with English abstracts from 1970 to the present. The Database is updated weekly.
IRIS (Illinois Researcher Information Service)

Search the IRIS Database for funding opportunities in every field from agriculture to zoology, or view upcoming deadlines in 25 subject areas.

INSPEC 1987 - present (OVID)
INSPEC 1969 - present (OVID)
INSPEC ARCHIVE 1898 - 1968 (OVID)
Inspec is the world’s leading bibliographic database, providing comprehensive access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering.
The Inspec Database provides academic, corporate, and government researchers with comprehensive coverage, in-depth indexing and easy access to a world of engineering and technical research.
J
Journals@OVID (1993 - present) - full text in medicine, nursing, and the journal ScienceJournals@Ovid is the second generation of Ovid Full Text, which combines all the capabilities of Ovid Full Text Collections with several important features and functions. The database is an aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies. While the Ovid Full Text Collections are subsets of journals combined for local access, Journals@Ovid is an aggregated online database of all Ovid journals, with each journal available by individual subscription.
JSTOR (18?? - 199?) - full text journals in humanities, social sciences, and mathematicsJSTOR provides access to the full images (including photos, tables, and graphs) of articles from back issues of a variety of scholarly journals, including economics journals. Coverage extends back to the 19th century for some journals. Recent years' issues are generally not accessible in this database.
K
Kansas City StarThe Kansas City Star is the major daily newspaper serving the Kansas City metropolitan area. The Star was founded in 1880 by William Rockhill Nelson and is the winner of eight Pulitzer Prizes. The Star publishes 13 zoned editions and provides coverage of national and local news, business, sports and features. The Star is owned by Knight Ridder, the second-largest newspaper publisher with products in the United States.  Coverage is 1991-Present.
L
LexisNexis AcademicLexisNexis Academic has a business section that offers full text access to up-to-date information on business news. It also includes industry information and financial data about companies.
LexisNexis CongressionalLexisNexis Congressional provides information related to the U.S. Congress. It includes a variety of features, including indexes to congressional publications, the full text of laws, regulations, bills, and publications. It also provides information about the backgrounds and activities of members of Congress.
LexisNexis StatisticalLexisNexis Statistical provides statistical data on many different topics, including business. It also indexes and abstracts publications with statistical content.
Library, Information Science & TechnologyLibrary, Information Science & Technology Abstracts,(LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Library Lit (HW WilsonWeb)Reflecting the latest trends in a rapidly evolving field, this database indexes English and foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses, plus over 300 books per year. This invaluable resource delivers full text articles cover to cover from over a hundred select publications.  Coverage began in 1984, with full text available since 1997.
M
Materials Business FileMaterials Business File focuses on industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries. Citations for this database are pulled from 2,000 journals, plus patents, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, and books indexed by expert editors from Materials Information. Coverage begins in 1985.
Materials Research Database with METADEX (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)The CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX brings together in one place the majority of the leading materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end us, corrosion, performance and recycling is covered in depth for all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites. Over 3,000 primary journals plus trade literature, patents, newspapers, press releases, conference proceedings, books and reports. Also Contains Mechanical Engineering Abstracts for searching a wider knowledge base with ease. Coverage is 1966-Present.
MathSciNetThe Mathematical Reviews Database is the database of bibliographic information and reviews created and maintained by the American Mathematical Society. It continues the tradition and extends the scope of the work begun by the paper publication Mathematical Reviews in 1940. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research are covered.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology OnlineFor more than 40 years, the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology has been the first source readers around the world have turned to when starting research on any major scientific topic. With more than 7,000 articles written by leaders in their fields - including 30 Nobel Prize winners - the Encyclopedia is famed for the scope and quality of its content.  The electronic version contains over 7,100 articles in 97 subject areas.
Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts
CSA Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the serials literature in mechanical and transportation engineering and their complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation. This database provides in depth, comprehensive coverage of the international engineering literature with the monitoring of over 2,600 serial titles as well as numerous non-serial publications.
Medline 1996 - present (OVID)
Medline 1950 - present (OVID)
MEDLINE covers literature on biomedicine, including the biological and physical sciences as they relate to medicine. It contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. A few full text articles are available. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, coverage begins in 1966.
Medline Daily (OVID)Same as Medline as outlined above with the scope preset to only display the records added new each day.
Merck Index  The Merck Index is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds.
Mergent Online  Mergent Online provides extensive information on 15,000 public companies in the United States and 20,000 international companies. Information on companies includes financials, stock, subsidiaries, S.E.C. filings, debt, etc.; worldwide industry reports are also available in the databse. Fifteeen years of company financial information is provided.
METADEXMETADEX is the only comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. Information from over 2,000 journals, plus patents, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, and books are indexed by expert editors from Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. Begun in 1966, METADEX contains over 950,000 references and is the database equivalent of Metals Abstracts, Metals Abstracts Index, and Alloys Index.
MLA International BibliographyMLA indexes articles in the modern languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore. It includes journals, books, dissertations, and collections of essays. Complete coverage begins in 1963, although basic records for earlier articles in journals available in the JSTOR database are also included in MLA.
N
NASA Technical Report ServerThe NASA Scientific and Technical Information (STI) Program's  mission is to collect, archive, and disseminate NASA aerospace information, and locate domestic and international STI pertinent to NASA's missions and Strategic Enterprises. Examples of NASA's STI include research reports, journal articles, conference and meeting papers, technical videos, mission-related operational documents, and preliminary data. NASA's technical information is available via the NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS) is to provide students, educators, and the public access to NASA's technical literature. NTRS also collects scientific and technical information from sites external to NASA to broaden the scope of information available to users. NTRS's Simple Search searches for NASA information only and its Advanced Search can search for NASA and non-NASA information. Most of the NASA information does not have full text document images and documents can be ordered by contacting the  NASA Center for AeroSpace Information.
NewsBank - Post-Dispatch & KC StarFull text searching of both the St. Louis Post Dispatch and the Kansas City Star daily newspapers.  Coverage begins in 1988.
New York Times, Historical (1851-2003)This database provides full text coverage of the entire New York Times Newspaper from 1851-2003. Coverage of newer material can be found in Lexis-Nexis Academic.
NewspaperArchives.com

Access NewspaperARCHIVE contains tens of millions of searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1700s. It is your gateway to searching and reading historical newspapers online. Content on Access NewspaperARCHIVE is a unique primary resource, as newspapers provide information as news happened and not necessarily the way it was remembered.

19th Century Masterfile (Series 1-Journals)19th Century Masterfile is an index to articles in British and American scholarly journals. The core of the database is Poole's Plus, which covers periodical literature from 1802 to 1906. The Masterfile provides only citations, not the full text of articles.
NIST Chemistry WebBookThe NIST Chemistry WebBook provides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.  You can search for data on specific compounds in the Chemistry WebBook based on name, chemical formula, CAS registry number, molecular weight, chemical structure, or selected ion energetics and spectral properties.  It includes such properties as Ion energetics data, thermophysical property data, thermochemical data and more on thousands of chemical compounds.
NTIS Technical Reports (title search/index only)The National Technical Information Service is one of the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available. For more than 50 years NTIS has assured businesses, universities, and the public timely access to well over 2 million publications covering over 350 subject areas.
O
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
An illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past.
Oxford English Dictionary On-LineFull Text of the Oxford English Dictionary
P
PAIS InternationalPAIS includes material on topics relating to politics and public policy. The database indexes a variety of materials, including articles, books, and government documents. Coverage begins in 1972.
PapersFirst 1993 - present (FirstSearch)This database covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.  Coverage began in 1993 and it currently contains over 4.9 million records.
Philosopher's IndexThe Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics as well as material on the philosophy of disciplines, such as law, religion, science, history, and education.
Premedline (OVID)Ovid MEDLINE® In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations (PREM), the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) in-process database for Ovid MEDLINE, provides basic information and abstracts before a record is indexed with MeSH® heading(s) and added to Ovid MEDLINE. Ovid MEDLINE® In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations, like Ovid MEDLINE® itself, encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science (as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology).
Project Muse (Scholarly Journals Online)Project Muse provides access to the full text of articles from almost 200 journals, many of them in the humanities. Coverage begins in 1993.
ProQuest Psychology JournalsWith complete information from over 400 top psychology and related publications, this database meets the needs of both students and mental-health professionals. All the source publications are available in the ASCII full text format. Nearly all of them also offer articles in the full-image and Text+Graphics Science & Technology formats. Articles from the American Journal of Psychology and the American Journal of Psychiatry are just the tip of the iceberg in this database. It covers hundreds of other leading publications in the field, including not only U.S. monthlies and quarterlies but also several journals published in Canada (e.g., Canadian Psychology, Canadian Journal of Behavioural Science, Canadian Journal of Experimental Psychology) and in the U.K (e.g., British Journal of Psychology, British Journal of Educational Psychology, British Journal of Clinical Psychology).  Coverage began in 1992.
PsycARTICLESPsycARTICLES is a listing of full text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.  Due to a change in access, you can now use PsychINFO to search through PsychARTICLES at the same time.  The link to the left only allows you to browse the articles covered in PsychARTICLES.
PsycINFO 1985 - present (OVID)
PsycINFO 1967 - present (OVID)
PsycINFO 1806 - present (OVID)
The American Psychological Association's PsycINFO® database is the comprehensive international bibliographic database of psychology. It contains citations and summaries of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1872 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,900 periodicals written in over 35 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to present. Over 80,000 records are added annually through weekly updates. Approximately 7.7 million cited references are found in citations to 156,000 journal articles, books, and book chapters.
PubMedPubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Q
Quakeline DatabaseQuakeline is a biliographic database that covers earthquakes, earthquake engineering, natural  hazard mitigation, and related topics. It includes records for various publication types,  such as journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, maps, and videotapes.  QUAKELINE® was launched in May 1987.  The database currently provides access to about 40, 000 records.
R
Readers' Guide Retrospective (HW WilsonWeb)Indexes popular periodical literature from 1890-1982. No full text.
Reference USA - Business and Corp TechReference USA provides detailed information on over 14 million American businesses and over 95,000 high-tech companies. Options include detailed searches and the ability to export results in limited quantities to a CSV file for data manipulation or printing mailing labels.
Religion Index/ATLA 1949 - presentATLA Religion Database provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues.  ATLA contains more than 1.3 million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in 35 languages. It includes more than 430,000 article citations from more than 1,500 journals (600 currently indexed), more than 200,000 essay citations from 15,300 multi-author works, and more than 400,000 book review citations. Most coverage spans from 1949 to the present while ambitious retrospective indexing is underway taking indexing of select titles whose publication pre-dates 1949 back to their original publication date.
S
SAE Digital LibraryFull text of SAE technical papers from the most recent ten years.
Safari Books OnlineSafari Books Online offers electronic books about programming, IT, and business.  It features over 5000 books from a variety of top technology publishers.
Saint Louis Post-DispatchThe St. Louis Post-Dispatch covers local, national and international news for the St. Louis Area, with bureaus in Washington, D.C., Jefferson City, MO and Springfield, IL. Full coverage of state and national news is offered with an emphasis on business and the economy. St. Louis is located in a diversified economic climate, and the Post-Dispatch reports on a variety of industries including: financial services, beverage, agriculture, biotechnology, chemical, aerospace & defense and automotive. The Post-Dispatch also provides comprehensive sports coverage of baseball, hockey and football, as well as the Big 12 and Big Ten college conferences. The St. Louis area is one of the leading medical centers in the U.S. and is the home of such well-known research organizations as Washington University, Monsanto and McDonnell-Douglas/Boeing.  Coverage is from 1988-Present.
Science.govScience.gov provides a combined search of government databases including: AGRICOLA, Energy Citations Database, Information Bridge, NASA Technical Reports Sever, National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP), PubMed, STINET(Public), and USGS Publications Warehouse.
SciFinder Scholar 2007 (download)SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents. It includes literature on topics such as biotechnology, toxicology, environmental sciences, medicine, and food science. Some full text articles are available. Coverage begins in 1907. (You must download the SciFinder Scholar software to your computer to be able to access this database unless using a library research computer in the library.)
ScopusScopus provides multidisciplinary indexing of the science and engineering literature. It indexes over 15,000 scholarly journals and 500 conference proceedings with coverage back to 1996.
Social Services AbstractsCSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,406 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.  Coverage began in 1980.
Social Work Abstracts 1977 - present (OVID)The Social Work Abstracts database, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., contains more than 45,000 records, spanning 1977 to the present, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
Sociological AbstractsCSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1973 contain in-depth and non evaluative abstracts of journal articles.  Many records from key journals in sociology, published since 2001,  also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article. Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference; these links increase the possibility of finding more potentially relevant articles.
Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts
New developments in solid state and superconductivity technology will have a profound impact on virtually every industry in the foreseeable future - with far-reaching economic consequences. Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts provides unparalleled access to current research and applications across the field. The journal presents global coverage on all aspects of theory, production, and application of solid state materials and devices - as well as the new high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology, now highlighted in every issue. Just a few of the topics covered include , phase, crystal, and mechanical properties of solids , optical and dielectric properties , conductive and magnetic properties , exotic electronic structure and energy gaps , SQUIDs , impurity effects , flux structures and critical current , ceramics , twinning phenomena, and more. Solid State focuses on problem solving and commercially viable applications of the new high-tech advances. This database provides international coverage with the monitoring of over 3,000 serial titles as well as numerous non-serial publications.
SPE eLibraryDatabase of papers and journal articles of the Society of Petroleum Engineers. Freely searchable, but a password is required for access to full text. Faculty members may request the password from a librarian; librarians will retrieve articles for students on request. Librarians can be contacted at the reference desk or by email at library@mst.edu
SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices)The SPIN database (Searchable Physics Information Notices) provides the most current indexing and abstracting of more than 100 major physics, astronomy, and engineering journals and conference proceedings. It provides access to over 1 million abstracts and is updated daily. Approximately 50,000 new records are added annually.
Springfield News-LeaderSpringfield News' distribution area spans 32 counties in Missouri and northern Arkansas. The Springfield News-Leader is read by more then 182,000 daily readers and 220,000 on Sunday. It is the number one source for local news and shopping information.  Coverage is from 1999-Present.
STAT-USASTAT-USA is an agency in the Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce.  They provide authoritative information from the Federal government related to business, trade and economics. **PLEASE SEE A REFERENCE LIBRARIAN FOR LOGIN AND PASSWORD**
T
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Technology Research Database (CSA)
The CSA Technology Research Database provides a simultaneous search of all of the following databases, which are searchable individually as well.  For further information on a particular database please see the appropriate description listed on this page: Aerospace and High Technology, ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering, Computer and Information Systems Abstracts, Civil Engineering Abstracts, Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Electronics and Communications Abstracts, Mechanical and Transportation Engineering Abstracts and Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts.
TRIS Online (Transportation Research Index) from TRB & the National Transportation LibraryThe TRIS Database contains almost half a million records of references to books, technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles and on-going research in the field of transportation. TRIS does not contain information on vehicle standards and specifications, patent information, market research, or news articles. TRIS focus is transportation research.
U
UM Digital LibraryA collection of digitized information from across the University of Missouri system.
W
WorldCat (FirstSearch)WorldCat provides access to the catalogs of universities and research centers across the US; it is a unique resource to determine what materials actually exist, and which libraries hold that item. Remember, if you are trying to request a book through Interlibrary Loan, you do not need to find out what libraries hold that book; our InterLibrary loan staff will do that for you.