![]() |
Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060
Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu
Library
Databases Electronic
Journals Print
Resources Web Resources
Compendex
Compendex is one of the most comprehensive bibliographic databases in
the field of engineering. The citations are drawn from over 2,600 journals,
conference proceedings, technical reports, books, and other materials.
Compendex is the online equivalent of the print Engineering Index from 1980 to
the present (see below for additional coverage). Coverage from 1980 to
Present.
Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969)
Online equivalent to the Engineering Index from 1884-1969. Provides some
of the most comprehensive coverage of engineering for that time period.
Includes citations from journals, conference proceedings, technical reports,
and some books. Coverage from 1884 to 1969.
SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder Scholar is the most comprehensive bibliographic database in the
field of chemistry. The database is essentially an online version of Chemical
Abstracts, but provides enhanced search capabilities (e.g., reaction searching)
and coverage now predates the 1907 commencement of Chemical Abstracts. The
database contains over 27 million citations primarily from journals, patents,
and conferences. While the focus of the database is chemistry, it is also a
valuable resource for certain areas of agriculture, biology, engineering,
geology, medicine, and physics. Coverage from mid-1800s to present.
Unlike most databases, client software will need to be downloaded onto your computer in order to access SciFinder Scholar. SciFinder Scholar is available on computers in the Wilson Library and most Computer Learning Centers (CLCs).
Scopus
Scopus provides multidisciplinary indexing of the science and engineering
literature. It is Elsevier's counterpart to ISI's Web of Science, providing the
same core functionality but indexing a wider variety of journals and
proceedings. Coverage generally from 1996 to present though some records date
as far back as the mid-1800s.
Technology Research
Database
Technology Research Database (TRD) is comprised of a number of
materials science and engineering databases (e.g., Ceramics Abstracts, Advanced
Polymers Abstracts, Composites Industry Abstracts, METADEX, etc.). Dates of
coverage vary for each database.
Inspec
One of the most comprehensive databases in the area of physics, electrical
engineering, and computer science. Indexes over 4,000 journals and 2,000
conferences proceedings, as well as some books. Coverage from 1969 to
present.
Inspec Archive (1898-1968)
One of the most comprehensive databases in the area of physics,
electrical engineering, and computer science. Coverage from 1898 to 1968.
Biological Abstracts
This database provides coverage of the biological sciences. The
database includes both the traditional areas of biology, as well
as interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics and
bioengineering. More than 6,500 serials are monitored for inclusion.
Coverage from 1980 to Present.
Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertation Abstracts contains references and abstracts for doctoral
dissertations from accredited American and
Canadian, selected British and European universities, covering all academic
subjects. Masters theses are also included
from accredited North American Universities. Coverage from 1861 (masters from
1988) to present.
PapersFirst
This database covers every published congress, symposium,
conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received
by the British Library. Coverage from 1993 to Present.
The Wilson Library subscribes to some journals electronically, some in print, and some in both formats. To determine if the library subscribes to a particular journal, one must search the A-Z Electronic Journals list and our online catalog, MERLIN. Search MERLIN by first clicking "Journal Title" and then entering the name of the journal (e.g., Chemical Engineering Science). MERLIN will provide information about the journal's availability in print and/or electronically.
Below are links to a few full-text electronic journals to help you get started. To perform a comprehensive literature search, one needs to first one or more of the databases listed above.
NOTE: Unless the journal is freely available, you will need to be on-campus or set-up VPN in order to access electronic journals. This includes the electronic journals linked from MERLIN.
American Chemical Society Journals
Full-text access to almost all of the ACS journals.
SpringerLink
Full-text access to many Springer journals from 1997-present.
Chemical
and Engineering News
Trade publication of the ACS. Offers general news on topics related to
chemistry and the chemistry industry. Limited full-text access to materials
published after 1/2007. Print version available in Library: Third Floor TP1
.C35
ICIS Chemical Business
(formerly Chemical Market Reporter)
Trade publication providing chemical pricing and industry news. Ask at
Reference Desk for username and password.
This is not an exhaustive list. Please search the MERLIN catalog for additional books. Also try Thermodex and the Chemical and Physical Properties websites to identify additional resources (See Web Resources below).
Ready Reference - Try these first.
Perry's Chemical Engineer's
Handbook, 7th Edition
Reference Desk TP151 .P45
1997
The handbook for chemical
engineers. Provides information on processes and physical property data.
CRC Handbook of
Chemistry and Physics, 87th Edition
Reference Desk QD65 .H3
2005/2006
Contains an extensive
collection of physical property data, conversion factors, nomenclature, and
mathematical
tables.
Riegel's Handbook of
Industrial chemistry, 10th Edition
Reference TP145 .R53 2003
Contains information on
chemistry and engineering of numerous industrial chemical processes.
Merck Index
Reference Desk RS51 .M4
2006
encyclopedia of chemicals,
drugs, and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs.
Each monograph in this
authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single
substance or a small group of
closely related compound.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and
Technology
Reference QD121 .M3 2002
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia
of Chemical Technology
Reference
TP9 .K54 2004
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of
Industrial Chemistry
Reference TP9 .U57 2003
Encyclopedia of Chemical
Processing and Design (McKetta)
Reference TP9 .E66
Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing (Lee)
Reference TP9 .E648 2006
Bailey's Industrial Oil
& Fat Products
Reference TP670 .B28 2005
Chemical Formulary
Third
Floor TP151 .C53
Encyclopedia of Bioprocess
Technology
Reference TP248.3 .F57 1999
Handbook of Food Science,
Technology, and Engineering
Reference TP370.4 .H38
2006
Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
Reference QC176.8.N35
E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering
Reference QD281
.P6 E55 1985
Encyclopedic Handbook of Biomaterials and Bioengineering
Reference R856
.A3 E52 1995
Handbooks
Biomedical Engineering Handbook
Reference R856.15
.B56 1995
Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards
Reference T55.3
.H3 B73 1999
Chemical Process Equipment:
Selection and Design
Reference TP157 .C414 2005
Handbook of Chemical
Engineering Calculations
Reference TP149 .H285 2004
Handbook of Organic
Solvents
Reference TP247.5 .L53 1995
Handbook of Separation
Techniques for Chemical Engineers
Reference TP156 .S45 H35 1997
Polymer Handbook
Reference QD388
.P65 1999
Periodic Tables
Chemical Properties and
Spectra
Chemical and Physical
Properties
This
website, maintained by LSU, allows one to select a chemical/physical property
and then provides a print
resource
where that information can be found. After you locate a print resource on the
LSU Website, check
MERLIN
to see if we own it.
CODATA: Internationally Recommended Values of the Fundamental Physical Constants
Spectral
Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
A
spectral database, maintained by the National Institute of Advanced Industrial
Science and Technology (Japan),
for
organic compounds. Includes spectra for FT-IR, MS, NMR, C13 NMR, Raman, and
ESR.
ThermoDex
This
website, maintained by University of Texas-Austin, allows one to select a
chemical/physical property and
then
provides a print resource and/or Web-based resources where that information can
be found. After you
locate
a print resource in ThermoDex, check MERLIN to see if we own it.
Miscellaneous
American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE)
Chemical Profiles
Chemical
process and historical pricing information (late 1990s - early 2000s) on
160
key
chemicals. Based on information prepared for the Chemical Market
Reporter.
ICIS Chemical Business (Formerly Chemical Market
Reporter)
Provides
chemical pricing for late 2006 - early 2007 only (i.e., ceased being updated by
ICIS).
Back to Main Subject Guides Page
Back to Library Home Page
This page created by David E. Hubbard.
If you have any suggestions and/or questions, please contact me at hubbardd@mst.edu.
Last updated: January 11,2008