![]() |
Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060
Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu
For assistance, please contact Sherry Mahnken at mahnkens@mst.edu
| Databases | Electronic Journals | Print Resources | Web Resources |
Use these databases to find journal articles and other materials on literature and related topics.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
This database indexes articles in journals related to all aspects of communications, including technical communication. Full text content is available for many journals.
Dictionary of National Biography
The Dictionary of National Biography includes 55,000 biographies of people who played a significant role in the history of the British Isles. In addition to biographical information from primary and secondary sources, entries are accompanied by bibliographies and are often illustrated with portraits.
JSTOR provides access to the full images (including photos, tables, and graphs) of articles from back issues of a variety of scholarly journals, including literature journals. Coverage extends back to the 19th century for some journals. Recent years' issues are generally not accessible in this database.
MLA indexes articles in the modern languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore. It includes journals, books, dissertations, and collections of essays. Complete coverage begins in 1963, although basic records for earlier articles in journals available in the JSTOR database are also included in MLA.
The Oxford English Dictionary is the most authoritative and comprehensive dictionary of English in the world. The online dictionary provides information on the meaning, usage, and evolution of over 600,000 words.
Project Muse provides access to the full text of articles from almost 200 journals, many of them in the humanities. Coverage begins in 1993.
Library Subscription Journals
Language and Literature
Available online from 1996 to the present
American Literature
American Quarterly
Available online from 2006 to the present
Available online from 1999-2004
Available online from 2000 to the present
Available online beginning in 2003
Only the last 12 months available online
Available online from 1993 to the present
Available online from 2002 to the present
Available online from 2001 to the present
Available online from 1996 to the present
Available online from 2000 to the present
Eighteenth-Century Studies
ELH
Available online from 1997 to the present
Available online from 1999 to the present
Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies
Available online from 2000 to the present
MLN
Available online from 1994 to the present
MLQ: Modern Language Quarterly
Available online from 2000-2004
Available online from 2001 to the present
Available online from 2003 to the present
Available online from 2001 to the present
Available online from 1995 to the present
Available online beginning in 1986; last 4 years not available online
Available online beginning in 1967; last 3 years not online
Research in African Literatures
Available online from 2000 to the present
Available online from 2001 to the present
Available online from 2000 to the present
Available online beginning in 1926; last 5 years not online
Available online from 1948 to 2000
Studies in English Literature, 1500-1900
Available online from 1999 to the present
Available online from 2003 to the present
Available online from 1996 to the present
Available online from 2000 to the present
Available online from 1999 to the present
Technical Communication
IEEE Transactions on Professional Communication
Available beginning in 1988
Journal of Business and Technical Communication
Available beginning in 1996; last year not available online
Journal of Technical Writing and Communication
Available online from 1999 to the present
Technical Communication Quarterly
Available online from 1997 to the present
Free Journals
CLCWeb: Comparative Literature and Culture
A peer-refereed quarterly of scholarship combining comparative literature with cultural studies from Purdue University
A refereed journal examining English literature, literary culture, and language during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries
Erfurt Electronic Studies in English
A refereed journal publishing articles on English literature and language
Journal of Language and Linguistics
A scholarly journal covering theoretical and applied topics in language studies, linguistics and language teaching; the site also includes the Journal of Language and Learning and the Journal of Language and Literature
A refereed journal in early-modern English literary and historical scholarship
A refereed journal with articles on the literarture of the Romantic period in Britain
A free online magazine dedicated to women writers that includes both fiction and scholarly articles
Contemporary Authors
Reference PN451 .C59Contains biographical information, lists of works, and lists of sources of biographical and critical information
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Reference PN94 .T95Includes brief biographies and reprints of critical essays on the works of living authors or authors who died after 1999
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Reference PN451 .D434Provides lengthy career biographies that cover that cover the development of the authors work and reputation; also includes lists of sources of interviews and critical evaluations
Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
Reference PN86 .L56Provides brief biographies and reprints of critical essays on the works of writers who died between 1400 and 1799
Masterplots
Reference PN44 .M33Presents plot summaries and critical evaluations for selected works of literature
Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism
Reference PN92 .N5Provides brief biographies and reprints of critical essays on the works of writers who died between 1800 and 1899
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
Reference PN94 .T85Provides brief biographies and reprints of critical essays on the works of writers who died between 1900 and 1999
Gateways
Linguistic Resources on the Internet
Site with a well-organized list of sites relating to various topics in linguistics
A collection of links to sites on the Internet dealing especially with English and American literature that are useful to academics
Voice of the Shuttle: Literature
Site with briefly annotated links to online resources for literature in English
Collections
Library of Southern Literature
Site containing a wide variety of literary works of the American South published before 1924; also linked from this site is a collection of North American Slave Narratives
A collection of literary works that are in the public domain in the United States
A large full text collection of literature (fiction, non-fiction, and poetry) and reference works that fall within the public domain
A site that includes about 2,900 English poems by over 400 poets from the Old English period to the work of living poets; based on the book Representative Poetry, published by the University of Toronto Press
Wright American Fiction, 1851-1875
A collection that attempts to include every novel published in the United States between 1851 and 1875, among them works by important writers such as Twain, Hawthorne, and Melville, as well as many forgotten authors
Grammar and Style Guides
The American Heritage Book of English Usage
Contains information about grammar, style, diction, word formation, gender, social groups and scientific forms; hosted by Project Bartleby
Strunk's classic guide to plain English style, focusing on commonly violated rules of usage; hosted by Project Bartleby
Guide to Citation Style Guides
A collection of links to guides for properly citing Internet resources using the APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian styles
Composition
Site that provides information about grammar and writing; a subsection of the site, Principles of Compostion, discusses the writing process and the structure and types of composition
The Nuts and Bolts of College Writing
Site designed for students and others who want (or need) to improve their writing skills; covers the process of writing from the thinking and planning stages to the finished product
The website for Purdue's Writing Lab includes handouts, interactive presentations and workshops, and links to other sites, all providing information on topics relating to improving writing
Science Fiction and Fantasy Sites
Index to Science Fiction Anthologies and Collections
An index to the contents of 3,900 science fiction anthologies and collections by single authors published prior to 1984
Locus Index to Science Fiction
An index of works (including short stories, obituaries, and book reviews) appearing in anthologies, single-author collections, and magazines from 1984 to the present
Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
A database of materials including "history, criticism, commentary, fan writings and some reviews" (although not book reviews) in the genres of science fiction, fantasy, horror, supernatural, and weird fiction
Go to the Subject Guides page
Go to Curtis Laws Wilson Library
Go to the English Department
Last Updated 09/05/2007