![]() |
Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060
Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu
For assistance, please contact Sherry Mahnken at mahnkens@mst.edu
| Databases | Electronic Journals | Print Resources | Web Resources |
Use these databases to find journal articles and other materials on literature and related topics.
America: History & Life covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes citations with abstracts for books, dissertations, and articles from 1964 to the present. It does not include full-text articles, although it does link to some sources of full text.
Historical Abstracts covers world history from 1450 to the present, excluding material on the United States and Canada. Citations and abstracts for books, dissertations, and articles from over 2,000 journals are included in the database. Coverage begins in 1954. It does not include full-text articles, although it does link to some full-text sources.
JSTOR provides access to the full images (including photos, tables, and graphs) of articles from back issues of a variety of scholarly journals, including political science journals. Coverage extends back to the 19th century for some journals. Recent years' issues are generally not accessible in this database.
LexisNexis Academic offers full text access to up-to-date information from a wide variety of news sources as well as policy papers and legal documents. It is the best source of information on current events.
LexisNexis Congressional provides information related to the U.S. Congress. It includes a variety of features, including indexes to congressional publications, the full text of laws, regulations, bills, and publications. It also provides information about the backgrounds and activities of members of Congress.
LexisNexis Statistical provides statistical data on many different topics. It also indexes and abstracts publications with statistical content.
PAIS International
PAIS includes material on topics relating to politics and public policy. The database indexes a variety of materials, including articles, books, and government documents. Coverage begins in 1972.Project Muse provides access to the full text of articles from almost 200 journals, many of them in the humanities. Coverage begins in 1993.
This database provides access to the full text of reports, documents, and journals of both the Senate and the House of Representatives. It currently covers Congressional activities from 1817 to 1859.
Library Subscription Journals
American Journal of Political Science
Available online from 1973 on, but the last year is not available
Journal of European Public Policy
Available online from 1997 to 2004
Journal of Modern African Studies
Available online from 1963-last five years not available online
Available online from 1998 to 2003
Available online from 1941-last five years not available online
Social Science Computer Review
Available online from 1999 to 2001
Available online beginning in 1995
Free Journals
An interdisciplinary refereed journal publishing scholarship relating to the African continent>
European Integration Online Papers
"A peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary E-journal in the field of European integration research"
Journal of World Systems Research
Contains articles on topics related to world systems, such as globalization and global inequality
Middle East Review of International Affairs, a refereed quarterly journal on Middle East issues edited by Barry Rubin
Peace, Conflict and Development
An open-access journal on issues in conflict and peace studies, including topics such as human rights, democratization, conflict resolution, environment, and security
A refereed journal that publishes material about Southeastern Europe or pertaining to the region
Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
Dictionary of Government and Politics
Reference JA61 .C6 1998Definitions of terms in political science
Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics
Reference E184.A1 E574 2000Source for material on the political history and influence of the U.S.'s four largest racial ethnic groups--African Americans, Asian Americans, Native Americans, and Hispanics
Encyclopedia of Women in American Politics
Reference HQ1236.5.U6 E53 1999Provides information on the political history of women
Political Parties & Elections in the United States: An Encyclopedia
Reference JK2261 .P633 1991Source of information on a wide variety of topics relating to political parties and elections
Handbooks/Guides
Congressional Quarterly's Guide to Congress
Reference JK1021 .C565 1991Covers the origins of Congress, its powers, and legislative processes
Congressional Quarterly's Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court
Reference KF8742 .W567 1997Covers the origins of the Court, its powers, and its impact on other areas of government
Congressional Quarterly's Guide to U.S. Elections
JK1967 .C662, Latest in ReferenceContains analysis of and statistical information about U.S. elections (both presidential and Congressional) and political parties
Guide to the Presidency
Reference JK516 .C57 2002Covers the origins of the presidency, presidential powers, the executive branch, and the relationship to the other branches of government
The Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World
Reference JA61 .O95 2001A comprehensive guide containing articles on international relations and domestic politics worldwide
The Oxford Guide to the United States Government
Reference JK9 .P384 2001A guide to concepts and topics related to U.S. government
United States Government Manual
JK421 .A3, Latest at Reference DeskOfficial handbook of the federal government, providing information on agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches
Almanacs
Almanac of American Politics
JK1012 .A44, Latest in ReferenceProfiles of state politics, governors, members of Congress, and congressional districts
Congressional Quarterly Almanac
JK1 .C66, Latest 5 years in ReferenceReview of the past year's major legislation and politics
Europa World Year Book
JN1 .E85, Latest at Reference DeskDescriptive surveys and statistics of nations, as well as a listing of international organizations
The Statesman's Year-Book
JA51 .S7, Latest at Reference DeskStatistical and historical annual of the states of the world
World Factbook
Reference G123 .U56Country profiles compiled by the CIA; also available online
Directories
Congressional Directory
Reference Z1223 .A191Provides biographical information about members of Congress, listings of Congressional committees and their members, and a listing of all government departments
CQ's Politics in America
JK1012 .C63, Latest in ReferenceA biographical directory of Congressional members; it also reviews their activities in Congress
Statistics
Statistical Abstract of the United States
HA202 .U55, Latest at Reference DeskCollection of statistics on population, economy, industry, and environment; the library has copies back to 1905. Also available online
Gateways
Political Science Resources on the Web
A site from the University of Michigan with many links to sites related to political science
Poly-Cy: Internet Resources for Political Science
Provides links to sites concerning political science, international affairs, public policy, and public affairs
Resources for Political Science
Well-organized collection of links from Vanderbilt University; includes lists of links for public policy issues and groups
Richard Kimber's Political Science Resources
Contains over 3,000 links to major political and governmental sites worldwide
Working Papers
Working Paper Sites of Political Science
Provides links to sites containing academic papers on political science topics
Foreign Relations
A nonpartisan organization that provides information about foreign policy choices facing the United States and other governments
CSIS: Center for Strategic & International Studies
A bipartisan organization that analyzes current and emerging global issues
FIRST: Facts on International Relations and Security Trends
An integrated database system that contains information from research institutes about international relations and security
A gateway to sites for the study of international relations, international law, and U.S. foreign policy
WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
Another gateway to sites related to international relations
Elections
Provides information about the results of recents elections for nations worldwide
World Governments and Governmental Organizations
Contains information about the European Union for citizens of the United States
"Comprehensive database of governmental institutions on the World Wide Web: parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multi-governmental institutions etc."
The web site of the United Nations
U.S. Government and Politics
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress
Site providing basic biographical information on members of Congress from 1774 to the present, as well as some presidents and vice presidents
Site containing official summaries and the full text of Supreme Court decisions since 1990 as well as the text of some historic decisions
Campaign finance information provided by the Center for Responsive Politics, a "non-partisan, non-profit research group that tracks money in politics and its effect on elections and public policy"
Contains information about Supreme Court decisions, including access to audio files containing oral arguments made before the Court
POTUS: Presidents of the United States
Provides information about each of the presidents, including election results, cabinet members, notable events, points of interest, and links to further information on other sites
A nonpartisan, non-profit project that has compiled a database of candidates and elected officials providing background and contact information, issue positions, voting records, campaign finance information, and interest group ratings for politicians
Supreme Court of the United States
The official site of the Supreme Court
THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet
A government site providing information the activities of the U.S. Congress, including bills, laws, committee reports, and the Congressional Record; full text documents are provided for some Congressional sessions
The home page of the executive branch of the U.S. government
Also see Government Information Sources for more links to state, national, and international government sites
Go to the Subject Guides page
Go to Curtis Laws Wilson Library
Go to the History and Political Science Department
Last Updated 09/18/2007